Project to Enhance Research Literacy (PERL)

About PERL

PERL Staff 

Deb Hill, MS
Project Manager, Project to Enhance Research Literacy (PERL) 

PERL Advisory Team

Belinda Anderson, PhD, LAc is the Academic Dean and Research Director at Pacific College of Oriental Medicine (new York), the largest Chinese medicine college in the US with campuses in NY, San Diego and Chicago. Dr. Anderson is also an Assistant professor at Albert Einstein College of Medicine, and an acupuncturist at New York University Fertility Center. In 2013 she received a five-year K07 grant from the NIH National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine for the project entitled: Evidence Informed Practice: faculty and Curriculum Development. She also serves on the Research Working Group for the Academic Collaborative for Integrative Health (ACIH). 

Jennifer Brett, ND, LAc is the Director for the University of Bridgeport Acupuncture Institute. Dr. Brett serves as the chair for both the research and distance education committees for the Council of Colleges of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (CCAOM). She is also a member of the ACIH Clinical Working Group. 

Jerrilyn Cambron, LMT, DC, MPH, PhD is the Chair, College of Allied Health Sciences & Distance Education and a Professor in the Department of Research at the National University of Health Sciences (NUHS).  Dr. Cambron is also the current president for the Massage Therapy Foundation and is also faculty at the University of Illinois at Chicago in the Epidemiology and Biostatistics Division of the School of Public Health. 

Roni Evans, DC, MS, PhD is Associate Professor in the Integrative Health & Wellbeing Research Program at the Center for Spirituality & Healing at the University of Minnesota. 

Avaid Haramati, PhD is the Director for the Center for Innovation and Leadership in Education (CENTILE), co-director of the graduate program in Complementary and Alternative Medicine and Professor at Georgetown University. Dr. Haramati is also a member of the Council of Advisors for ACIH. 

Ron LeFebvre, DC, MA is a professor at the University of Western States and is the Executive Director of the Consortium for Evidence Informed Practice Educators (CEIPE). Dr. LeFebvre is also the EIP program coordinator at UWS. 

Martha Menard PhD, LMT is the Director, Crocker Institute and Research Faculty, College of Integrative Medicine and Health Sciences, Saybrook University.  Dr. Menard is also the author of Making Sense of Research, an introductory textbook on research literacy and principles of evidence informed practice. Dr. Menard serves on the ACIH Research Working Group, and has developed and taught courses in research literacy for healthcare students and practitioners since 1995. 

Marcia Prenguber, ND is the Dean, University of Bridgeport College of Naturopathic Medicine and past president of the Council on Naturopathic Medical Education. Dr. Prenguber is the founding member of the Naturopathic Post Graduate Association. She serves as the co-chair of the Clinical Working Group of ACIH as well as the ACIH Board of Directors. 

Nichole Reding, MA, CPM, LDM Board Member, Midwifery Education Accreditation Council and Academic Coordinator, Birthingway College of Midwifery. Nichole also serves on the Board of Directors for ACIH as well as the ACIH Education Working Group. 

Jane D. Saxton, M.L.I.S is the Director of Library Services at Bastyr University. She is committed to raising the level of research literacy in the CAM fields and beyond. Jane has developed multiple evidence-informed practice resources, served as search coordinator/co-author on systematic reviews, and is currently collaborating on an integrated curriculum to ensure that students meet the information literacy competencies of the naturopathic medicine clinical doctorate program. 

Jan Schwartz, MA, BCTMB is the founder of Education and Training Solutions LLC providing customized on-line educational programs including an 8-hour and a 3-hour Research Literacy course. Jan has also served in key positions in several massage therapy organizations during her career in education and training. She is a founding member of ACIH where she continues to serve on the Board of Directors and the Education Working Group.