Education Working Group

Click here to review the Working Group Charter

The focus of the Education Working Group (EWG) is on identifying and advancing educational projects that foster inter-disciplinary understanding and respect among professions. These projects inform students, practitioners, educators and the public about the role of interprofessional education in the advancement of integrative healthcare values and practices. EWG supports interprofessional education among the ACIH disciplines as well as the broader healthcare community. Members of the EWG are faculty and administrators from ACIH member organizations and members of the ACIH professions with an interest in creating educational content and programs which foster cross-disciplinary understanding. The most significant work from September 2009-June 2011 was a collaboration with the Clinical Care Working Group relative to developing, and then creating materials to support, Competencies for Optimal Practice in Integrated Environments.


Dale Healey, DC, PhD* Dean, College of Undergraduate Health Sciences, Northwestern Health Sciences University; ACIH Board representing Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation

Beth Howlett, DAOM, LAc Faculty, Oregon College of Oriental Medicine

Acupuncture & East Asian Medicine

Kathleen Greenough, DACM Academic Dean, Associate Professor, Pacific College of Oriental Medicine


Christopher Arick, DC, MS Asst. Professor, Clinical Sciences, National University of Health Sciences

Gena E. Kadar, D.C., MS.MEdL, CNS, President and CEO, A Manner of Living Education, LLC

Michael Wiles, DC, MEd, MS Dean, Keiser University College of Chiropractic

Massage Therapy

Dawn Hogue, MA, CMT Chair, Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation; Senior Administrator, Cayce/Reilly School of Massotherapy

Diane Mastnardo, BS, LMT, Owner, Mastnardo Massage Therapy

Peter J. Szucs, MA, LMT, Associate Dean of Students, University of Western States

Naturopathic Medicine

Jennifer Johnson, ND Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs, Bastyr University

H. Garrett Thompson, DC, PhD, Professor and Dean of Instruction, Southwest College of Naturopathic Medicine

Board Members

Stacy Gomes, EdD ACIH Board Member representing Council of Colleges of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine; Vice President for Academic Affairs, Pacific College of Oriental Medicine

Beth Pimentel, ND ACIH Board Member representing North American Board of Naturopathic Examiners; Dean, School of Naturopathic Medicine, Maryland University of Integrative Health

Founding Co-Chairs

Jan Schwartz, MA, BCTMB*, Past Chair, Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation; Founder/President, Education Training Solutions

Michael Wiles, DC, MEd, MS Dean, Keiser University College of Chiropractic

* denotes member is also an ACIH board member